This page is a collection of CAHSAH articles, links, and contacts that will help you and your agency gather important information for understanding licensing issues. CAHSAH staff is available to help with your questions. This page is continuously under development, be sure to check back frequently for changes.
The California Department of Public Health has reduced its license renewal fees for home health and hospice agencies for the new fiscal year. Those fees for FY 2012-13 as opposed to FY 2011-12 are as follows:
|FY 2011-12||FY 2012-13|
|Home Health Agency||$4,542.60||$4,315.47|
|Hospices (2-year total)||$4,795.92||$4,641.96|
A renewal notice/application will be sent to a licensee 45-120 days prior to their license expiration date. It is the responsibility of the licensee to obtain a renewal notice. If you have not received a renewal notice within 45 days prior to your license expiration date; contact the Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit at (800) 236-9747.
For the entire license renewal fee schedule and more information, click here.
Last spring CAHSAH was notified by the Licensing and Certification Division and issued an all member e-alert in April that all home health agencies which were previously licensed prior to January of 2000 (before the law was implemented) and/or your agency hired new administrators, administrator designees or had new owners after your initial licensure you must submit Live Scan fingerprinting for those individuals. If your agency has not submitted these Live Scan clearances your annual renewal will not be granted nor will your agency have the opportunity to be renewed in the future. The department?s second all facilities letter is at http://cdph.ca.gov/certlic/facilities/Documents/LNC-AFL-11-53.pdf and provides the necessary details to comply with this mandatory requirement. Pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 1728.1(a) (2) (A) a criminal record clearance is required for the following individuals: The owner or owners of a home health agency if the owners are individuals; If the owner of a home health agency is a corporation, partnership or association, any person having a ten percent or greater interest in that corporation, partnership or association and; The administrator and administrator?s designee of a home health agency.
Agencies must submit before December 1, 2011 to: Department of Public Health, Licensing and Certification Program, Centralized Applications Unit, P. O. Box 997413, MS 3402 Sacramento, CA 95899-7413.
After seven months of discussion with both Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and Department of Health Services (DHS), there is a positive, final resolution to the drop site issue for licensed home health agencies. California home health agencies are officially allowed to use drop sites per a March 23 "All Facilities Letter" (AFL) to home health agencies from Department of Health Services, which can be found here.